Once again, a power ballad has won the hearts of the Maltese, this time presented by Claudia Faniello.

Breathlessly – composed by Eurovision father-and-son veterans Philip and Sean Vella and penned by Gerard James Borg, who’s also written numerous Eurovision entries over the years – came in first place on the 18th February at the MFCC Ta’ Qali with a total of 4,966 votes.

Claudia Faniello, clad in a shimmering ivory gown, gave a heartfelt performance after the results were announced. She was presented the award by Eurovision legend Mary Spiteri (Little Child, 1992) during the thirtieth edition of the Malta Eurovision Song Contest. The hosts for the evening were Daniel Azzopardi and Charlene Mercieca, who wore Gagliardi and Charles & Ron respectively.

Last year’s Eurovision representative Ira Losco also showcased her latest single, We Are The Soldiers, combined with her 2016 winning entries Chameleon and Walk On Water. The Travellers and Cristina Magrin were also guest performers during the show.


Claudia Faniello, sister to Eurovision singer Fabrizio Faniello, beat fifteen other contestants, and was followed in second place by Janice Mangion‘s Kewkba and Kevin Borg‘s Follow.

Ms Faniello will be representing Malta at the Eurovision Song Contest in Kiev, Ukraine, performing in the second semi-final on the 11th May.