The city of Mdina welcomed thousands of tourists and locals who visited to celebrate the finesse of classic cars at the annual Malta Classic Concours d’Elegance by Mdina Glass on the 7th October.

While crowds enjoyed the display of classics with presenter Colin Fitz interviewing collectors, the judges selected the winners from six categories. Anthony Axisa received the award for Elegance for his Jaguar E-Type (Series 1) 1962, Roberta Xuereb won Popular Classic for her 1954 Volkswagen Beetle, while Effie Pisani took home the Unrestored Original Condition prize with her Ford Anglia 1948.

Geoffrey Minter received the award for the Pre-War Model for his 1922 Delage CO2 Dual Cowl, and Egon Hofer of Switzerland took home the Best Race Car award with his rare 1960 Ferrari 250 GT SWB. Hugh and Judy Mayes were awarded Best Dressed.

Dr. Gavin Gulia, Chairman of the Malta Tourism Authority, and Joe Said, Owner and Managing Director of Mdina Glass, presented trophies designed and handcrafted by Mdina Glass.

At the Malta Classic Hill Climb by Thomas Smith, over forty local and overseas drivers raced at Ta’ Pennellu Hill in Mellieħa on the 8th October, with excellent weather and road conditions resulting in some admirable timings achieved by the participants.

Taking first place was Michael Pace in his 1975 Honda Civic with a time of 55,825 seconds, while Joseph Mifsud came second in a 1969 Hillman Imp. Clifford Debono was placed third in a 1970 Triumph Vitesse.

After the Hill Climb, drivers attended an after-party hosted by Busy Bee Catering and Thomas Smith in Mellieħa’s Church Square, where prizes were awarded over a glass of wine.

Aside from being crowned first in the Hill Climb, Michael Pace was also announced as the winner of the Malta Classic Grand Prix by Chopard at an awards gala reception at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Drew Campbell-Smith from Chopard and Malcolm Lowell from Edwards Lowell presented Pace with a Chopard Mille Miglia Chronograph.

Hon. Chris Agius, Parliamentary Secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport also presented Pace with a custom designed and crafted trophy from Mdina Glass.

Attended by over sixty local and overseas drivers, as well as a contingent of foreign press from motor sport and travel publications, the awards gala saw Dr. Gavin Gulia presenting a trophy to the Saturday Overall (Standard Cars Category) winner Zac Matten, driver of a 1974 Datsun 260 Z.


Click to see the Photo Gallery of the event


The Malta Classic is sponsored by Malta’s leading luxury and lifestyle brands, including Chopard, Mdina Glass, Thomas Smith, Shell, BMW, Sullivan Maritime, Farsons, Attard & Co., The Point, Pjazza Tigne, Good Earth, Busy Bee, Airswift Couriers, Atrium, Billboard Advertising, Karl Borg Events and Alberta. This event is also made possible by the support of Sport Malta, the Malta Tourism Authority, Mdina Local Council, Rabat Local Council, Mtarfa Local Council, Mellieha Local Council and Transport Malta.