Ryan Sciortino

Age: 23

Where do you live? Marsaskala

Status: Single

Star Sign: Aries

Main occupation: Electrical/Electronics engineering Student at MCAST, Paola and student worker

Other interests: Waterpolo player


Photo by Christine Borg

When RYAN SCIORTINO was young, his parents always tried to involve him in sports. However he was not always very enthusiastic. This led to him rejecting most of the sports that his parents had suggested until they encouraged him to try football at the age of seven.

“At this age I was a bit lazy and ended up playing as a football goalkeeper, until I was 10. After one inactive year, I started athletics and later handball. At the age of 14, I took up waterpolo to help me improve my handball skills, but ended up liking the sport more. By 2008 (at the age of 18) I had given up handball and school to pursue a professional career in waterpolo in Hungary. I spent five years playing in Hungary during the winter months and I then played for Neptunes WPSC back in Malta during the summer months. In the five years I spent in Hungary, I managed to play ten times in the Hungarian first division. I then decided to continue studying and in 2012, I started attending MCAST where I took up the National Diploma course in Electrical and Electronics Engineering. At about the same time, I was contacted by Valletta United and I am now entering my third season with Valletta. When I came back to Malta I had also taken the decision to start playing handball once again and therefore joined the Luxol handball club,” explained Ryan Sciortino in this interview with RAMONA PORTELLI.

How do you try to improve your waterpolo skills?

The main way I try to improve my training skills is by training hard every day and never missing one training session for whatever reason. However, the key to succeeding in all sports not just waterpolo is to be focused on whatever you are doing.

What pushed you to become a waterpolo player?

I started waterpolo to help me improve and become stronger in handball. Waterpolo turned out to be a sport which I was more talented in. Moreover, I found waterpolo more physically challenging (which is a plus for me) and more fun. Besides this, waterpolo clubs have a much more professional setup, and the Maltese level compared to foreigners is also relatively high. Also, it is more rewarding, winning a waterpolo league in front of 3,000 or more supporters is incredible. That has to be one of the best feelings a Maltese sportsman can experience. Moreover, the fact that my father was also a waterpolo goalkeeper helped me to become involved in this sport.

What do you think is the most attractive trait in another person?

Being honest and speaks directly.

If you could give one piece of advice to your younger self, what would it be?

I would have tried to go to a college in the USA to play waterpolo instead of going to Hungary. This would have meant that I could have played waterpolo at a high level without losing valuable years from my studies.

What is your most treasure possession?

My family and friends.


Photo by Ian Noel Pace